Our People

We couldn’t accomplish our mission without the tireless work of our staff, board of trustees, and dedicated committee members from around the state. Meet our crew.
Jayla Poppleton

Jayla Poppleton

Executive Director

Learn more about Jayla.                                                                                                                                                      jayla@wateredco.org
(303) 377-4433 ext. 6


Jennie Geurts

Jennie Geurts

Director of Operations

Learn more about Jennie.                                                                                                                                                      jennie@wateredco.org
(303) 377-4433 ext. 0

Sami Miller

Sami Miller

Membership and Engagement Officer

Learn more about Sami.                                                                                                                                                    sami@wateredco.org
(303) 377-4433 ext. 5

Stephanie Scott

Stephanie Scott

Leadership Programs Manager

Learn more about Stephanie.                                                                                                                                                stephanie@wateredco.org
(303) 377-4433 ext. 1

Scott Williamson

Scott Williamson

Education Programs Manager

Learn more about Scott.                                                                                                                                                        scott@wateredco.org
(303) 377-4433 ext. 2

Cailyn Andrews

Cailyn Andrews

K-12 Water Educator Liason

Learn more about Cailyn.                                                                                                                                                                      cailyn@wateredco.org

Caitlin Coleman

Caitlin Coleman

Publications and Digital Resources Managing Editor

Learn more about Caitlin.                                                                                                                                                    caitlin@wateredco.org
(303) 377-4433 ext. 3

Jerd Smith

Jerd Smith

Fresh Water News Editor

Learn more about Jerd.                                                                                                                                                                      jerd@wateredco.org
(303) 377-4433 ext. 4

Esther Malers

Esther Malers

Communications Intern

Learn more about Esther.                                                                                                                                                                      esther@wateredco.org

Board of Trustees

Our 24-member non-partisan Board of Trustees is comprised of water and non-water professionals from various disciplines and regions across Colorado. Their tremendous commitment to water education is apparent and appreciated.

Lisa Darling, South Metro Water Supply Authority, Greenwood Village

Vice President
Gregory J. Hobbs, Jr., University of Denver College of Law, Denver

Brian Werner, Centennial

Alan Matlosz, Stifel, Denver

Perry Cabot, Colorado Water Center, Grand Junction

Nick Colglazier, Colorado Corn Administrative Committee, Greeley

Sen. Kerry Donovan, Colorado Senate, Wolcott

Paul Fanning, Arkansas Basin Roundtable, Pueblo

Jorge Figueroa, El Laboratorio, Boulder

Dulcinea Hanuschak, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, Denver

Eric Hecox, Shea Properties, Denver

Matt Heimerich, Palmer Land Trust, Rocky Ford

Greg Johnson, Colorado Water Conservation Board, Denver

Julie Kallenberger, Colorado Water Center, Fort Collins

David LaFrance, American Water Works Association, Littleton

Dan Luecke, Consultant, Boulder

Kevin McBride, Steamboat Springs

Rep. Karen McCormick, Colorado House of Representatives, Boulder

Peter Ortego, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, Towaoc

Kelly Romero-Heaney, Colorado Department of Natural Resources

Elizabeth Schoder, Colorado Water Conservation Board, Denver

Don Shawcroft, Alamosa

Laura Spann, Southwestern Water Conservation District, Durango

Chris Treese, Glenwood Springs

Committee Members

Water Education Colorado relies on both Board members and generous volunteers to accomplish our work. The following individuals volunteer on Water Education Colorado’s Program Development and/or Communications committees alongside the Board.

Blake Osborn, Colorado State University Extension

Jennifer Riley-Chetwynd, One World One Water Center, Metropolitan State University of Denver