President’s Reception

Best of the best in Colorado water 

Each year, Water Education Colorado invites friends and colleagues to our President’s Reception — an evening of celebration, networking and awards as we honor water leadership and raise money for our work at one of the best water events of the year.

Registration is now open for the 2024 President’s Reception on September 5, 2024 at Balistreri Vineyards in Denver.  Learn more and register HERE

Presidents Reception 2024


WEco awards and past winners

Diane Hoppe Leadership Award (formerly the President’s Award)

Water Education Colorado bestows an important annual award on a Coloradan who has a body of work in the field of water resources benefiting the Colorado public; strong reputation among peers; commitment to balanced and accurate information; among other qualities.

What started in 2007 as WEco’s President’s Award was renamed the Diane Hoppe Leadership Award in 2016 to recognize the legacy of this Colorado water visionary. Winners have included:

2023: Anne Castle

2022: Justice Gregory Hobbs (posthumously)

2021: Michael Preston

2021: John Porter (posthumously)

2020:  John Stulp

2019: Jennifer Pitt

2018: Tom Cech

2017: Eric Kuhn

2016: Gov. John Hickenlooper

2015: Jim Lochhead

2014: Alan Hamel

2013: Jim Isgar

2012: Diane Hoppe and Lewis Entz

2011: Nolan Doesken

2010: Russ George

2009: Dick Bratton

2008: Ken and Ruth Wright

2007: John Fetcher

Emerging Leader Award

In 2010, Water Education Colorado introduced the Emerging Leader Award to honor recent work by a young Colorado professional to strengthen and improve water education in the state. Winners have included:

2023: Russ Sands

2022: Sonja Chavez

2021: Kelly Romero-Heaney

2020: Paul Bruchez

2019: Celene Hawkins

2018: Joe Frank

2017: Drew Beckwith

2016: Heather Dutton

2015: Greg Kernohan

2014: Sean Cronin

2013: Amy Beatie

2011: Hannah Holm

2010: Eric Hecox

Translate »